

News Release

For Immediate Release

Premier Taptuna realigns cabinet portfolios

IQALUIT, Nunavut (June 17, 2016) – Premier Peter Taptuna has announced changes to Nunavut's executive council, to ensure strategic leadership to realize the goals of *Sivumut Abluqta*. Changes become effective June 24, 2016.

"After working with our new ministers and observing the distinct strengths of each member of cabinet, I have reassigned portfolios to renew energy and reinvigorate collaboration," said Premier Taptuna.

Portfolio assignments are as follows:

Honourable Peter Taptuna

Premier

Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs Minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs Minister responsible for Seniors' Advocate Minister responsible for Immigration

Honourable Monica Ell-Kanayuk

Deputy Premier

Minister of Economic Development and Transportation

Minister responsible for Mines

Minister responsible for the Nunavut Business Credit Corporation

Minister responsible for the Nunavut Development Corporation

Minister responsible for the Status of Women

Minister responsible for the Utility Rates Review Council

Honourable George Kuksuk

Minister of Culture and Heritage

Minister of Languages

Minister responsible for Nunavut Housing Corporation

Honourable Johnny Mike

Minister of Family Services
Minister responsible for Poverty Reduction
Minister responsible for Homelessness
Minister responsible for Qulliq Energy Corporation

Honourable Keith Peterson

Minister of Finance and Chairman of the Financial Management Board
Minister of Justice
Minister responsible for the Nunavut Liquor Commission
Minister responsible for the Liquor Licensing Board
Minister responsible for the Human Rights Tribunal
Minister responsible for the Labour Standards Board
Minister responsible for Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission

Honourable Paul Quassa

Minister of Education Minister responsible for Nunavut Arctic College Government House Leader

Honourable George Hickes

Minister of Health Minister responsible for Suicide Prevention

Honourable Joe Savikataaq

Minister of Community and Government Services Minister of Environment Minister of Energy Nunavut Chair, Hudson Bay Roundtable

###

Media Contact:

Cate Macleod
Director of Communications
Department of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs
Government of Nunavut
867-975-6049
cmacleod@gov.nu.ca

Λペ^cーላť ⊃∖Ⴑჼჽ[™]Ⴎჼჼ∩C⊳ť ヘケトベ^aႺჼb^c[©] Δჲ^b∩⊃˙^bω^bω^c, fb^caà∩⊃˙, ΔჲΔ^aa^c^bD^a ÞΔĠ∩Ͻ˙^a Þペσ, www.gov.nu.ca. News releases are available in Inuktitut, English, Inuinnaqtun and French on www.gov.nu.ca. Tuhaqtaghat ittut Inuktitut, Qablunaatitut, Inuinnaqtun Uiviititullu talvani www.gov.nu.ca. Les communiqués de presse sont disponibles en inuktitut, en anglais, en inuinnaqtun et en français à : www.gov.nu.ca.